HEIMBACH WINS SECOND SELINSGROVE LUCAS OIL ASCS "BATTLE OF THE GROVES" YODER SCORES LIMITED LATE MODEL SEASON OPENER; DEFENDING CHAMPION JONES TAKES ROADRUNNER CHECKERS

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove made a late-race pass by Steve Buckwalter of Royersford to take the victory in Saturday night's Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series "Battle of the Groves" 25-lap main event on Riteway Sealing & Paving Night.

Heimbach earned \$4,000 for his 41st career 358-360 sprint car win at the track at the wheel of the Creasy Signs/Packers Concessions No. 12. He was the winner of the first and only ASCS race that was held at the track in 2018.

Andrew Yoder of Middleburg out-dueled Devin Hart of Port Royal to score the win in the 20-lap limited late model season opener.

Two-time defending roadrunner champion Jake Jones of Hunlock Creek won the 12-lap roadrunner race.

Selinsgrove Speedway is back in action with a 7 p.m. starting time Saturday, May 8, featuring the Patriot Sprint Tour 360 sprint cars, Apache Tree Service PASS/IMCA 305 sprint cars, and roadrunners. Track gates will open at 5 p.m.

At the start of the ASCS sprint car feature, polesitter Tim Shaffer beat second-place starter Steve Buckwalter into the first turn for the early lead with third-place starter Scott Bogucki in third.

Ryan Stillwaggon's car rolled to a stop on the frontstretch and brought out the event's first caution flag on lap four. On the lap five restart, Shaffer continued to lead with Buckwalter, Bogucki, fourth-place starter Blane Heimbach, and fifth-place starter Matt Covington in tow.

By lap 10, the leaders began to encounter slower traffic and Buckwalter closed the gap with Shaffer. At the halfway point, Buckwalter pulled off a slider in turn four to snatch the lead from Shaffer. Three laps later, Shaffer's night came to end as his car slowed with motor problems.

On lap 17, Bogucki's great run also came to end when his car blew a tire in turn two. On the ensuing restart, Buckwalter and Heimbach see-sawed for the lead through the turns, pulling off thrilling sliders, with Heimbach winning out the duel on lap 19. Eighth-place starter Derek Locke made a late-race charge into third after getting by fifth-place starter Matt Covington for the position.

At the checkered flag, Heimbach was victorious over Buckwalter, Locke, Covington, and sixth-place starter Blake Hahn.

Polesitter Devin Hart powered into the lead at the start of the limited late model feature. Hart was chased by fourth-place starter Trent Brenneman for most of the race. On a lap three restart, sixth-place starter Andrew Yoder moved into the fourth position and a lap later passed Steve Todorow for the third spot.

At the halfway point, Hart, Brenneman, and Yoder raced within striking distance of each other for the top spots. With five to go, Yoder stormed around the top side of turns one and two and put in bids to take over the runner-up position and eventually secured the position on lap 16.

On the lap 19 restart, Yoder pulled in front of Hart on the backstretch and went on to win by a half-second margin of victory over Hart, Brenneman, second-place starter Jared Fulkroad, and Tudorow.

Front row starters Terry Kramer and Brad Mitch battled for the early lead in the roadrunner race.

Kramer pulled into the early lead with eighth-place starter Keith Bissinger charging into second on the second circuit.

Kramer and Bissinger swapped the lead on lap six while fourth-place starter Jake Jones advanced to third and made it a three-car battle at the front of the pack. With two laps to go, Jones made the winning pass using the inside lane on the frontstretch. Bissinger crossed the line in second but was disqualified for failing to go to post-race inspection.

Kramer was credited with second, followed by Mitch, Nate Romig, and Smith Cope.

SELINSGROVE SPEEDWAY RACE SUMMARY - 1 May 2021

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series 360 Sprint Cars – 36 Entries

25-Lap ASCS A-Main: 1) 12 Blane Heimbach 2) 38 Steve Buckwalter 3) 77 Derek Locke 4) 95 Matt Covington 5) 52 Blake Hahn 6) 47X Dylan Westbrook 7) 8 Devon Borden 8) 35 Jason Shultz 9) 28F Davie Franek 10) 23X Pat Cannon 11) 23 Seth Bergman 12) M1 Mark Smith 13) 63 JJ Hickle 14) 10C Paulie Colagiovanni 15) 19 Colby Thornhill 16) 28 Scott Bogucki 17) 17B Ryan Bickett 18) 88 Travis Reber 19) 669 Brandon McGough 20) 72 Tim Shaffer 21) Ryan Stillwaggon 22) 47 Adam Carberry 23) 77X Alex Hill

Lap Leader(s): Tim Shaffer 1-13; Steve Buckwalter 14-18; Blane Heimbach 19-25

Hard Charger: JJ Hickle +8

Heat Winners: Derek Locke, Colby Thornhill, Matt Covington, Steve Buckwalter

B-Main Winners: Paulie Colagiovanni, Mark Smith

Limited Late Models - 15 Entries

20-Lap A-Main: 1) 2 Andrew Yoder 2) 33K Devin Hart 3) 33 Trent Brennemen 4) 12K Jared Fulkroad 5) 93 Steve Todorow 6) 22 Casey Steinhoff 7) 92 Shaun Lawton 8) 32 Ethan Beasom 9) 99 Kyle Bachman 10) 57T Chase Bowsman 11) 27 Cayden Ranck 12) 89 John Schoch 13) 79 Dirk Rimrott 14) 7K Kenny Yoder DNS 15) 25 Colton Bear DNS

Heat Winners: Jared Fulkroad, Kyle Bachman

Roadrunners - 15 Entries

12-Lap A-Main: 1) 7 Jake Jones 2) 992 Terry Kramer 3) 10 Brad Mitch 4) 25 Nate Romig 5) 1 Smith Cope 6) 37 Will Brunson 7) 75X Kevin Dobson 8) 12 Tom Underwood 9) 60 Jimmy Kessler 10) 28 Miranda Minium 11) 14 Matt Ney 12) 75 Darren Rice 13) 75 Daren Rice 14) 11 Keith Bissinger DQ 15) 14 Josh Bender DNS

Heat Winners: Terry Kramer, Nate Romig