#### SHULTZ POWERS TO SECOND 360 SPRINT CAR WHITCOMB MEMORIAL WIN; FRYE SCORES FIRST SUPER LATE MODEL WIN OF SEASON; JONES BECOMES THREE-TIME ROADRUNNER WINNER

**SELINSGROVE, Pa.** – Jason Shultz of Carlisle turned in a dominating performance Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway for his second career win in the Patriot Sprint Tour 19<sup>th</sup> annual Joe Whitcomb Memorial for 360 sprint cars on Advance Concrete Systems/Kids Night.

The \$3,071 win at the wheel of the Ritter Racing/Selinsgrove Ford No. 35 was also his second of the season and the 24<sup>th</sup> of his 358-360 sprint car racing career at the track.

For Coleby Frye of Dover, his first win of the season in the 25-lap super late model race was also his 24<sup>th</sup>career in the division at Selinsgrove. Frye became the fifth different winner in as many super late model races at the track this season.

Jake Jones of Hunlock Creek recorded his third win of the season in the 12-lap roadrunner race.

Selinsgrove Speedway will present two racing programs in the next week starting Thursday, June 16, with the return of the USAC Amsoil National Sprint Car Tour plus the winged 410 sprint cars at 7:30 p.m. The USAC wingless sprint cars will compete in a 30-lap race paying \$6,000 to win and the winged 410 sprint cars will race 25 laps for \$5,000 to win. Grandstand gates will open at 5:30 p.m.

The speedway will swing back into action at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, June 18, with the 24<sup>th</sup> annual Jeff's Auto Body Late Model Open paying \$5,000 to win plus limited late models and roadrunners. Grandstand gates will open at 5 p.m.

Jason Shultz earned the pole position for the Joe Whitcomb Memorial and beat out Parker Evans for the early lead at the drop of the green flag. Shultz quickly pulled away from the field as Evans and fourth-place starter Mike Thompson dueled for the second spot.

On the second circuit, sixth-place starter Derek Locke raced into the third spot with seventh-place starter Jake Karklin blasting into fourth by lap five.

While Shultz continued to stretch his lead, an exciting three-car battle unfolded for the runner up position between Evans, Locke, and Karklin. On the ninth circuit, Karklin advanced to second and attempted to reel in Shultz.

At the halfway point, ninth-place starter Mark Smith showed some speed and moved into the top five. With five laps remaining, Shultz developed over half a track lead as Locke powered into second. At the finish, Shultz posted a convincing 13.93-second margin of victory over Locke, Smith, Karklin, and eighth-place finisher Davie Franek.

Front row starters Coleby Frye and Hayes Mattern battled for the lead at the start of the late model main event. Frye pulled into the lead as Mattern stayed within striking distance in the opening laps.

On the fifth lap, third-place starter Dylan Yoder reclaimed the spot from original fourth-place starter Andrew Yoder with fifth-place starter Bryan Bernheisel and seventh-place starter Jeff Rine.

At the halfway point, a torrid race unfolded for the runner up position between Mattern and D. Yoder as Frye began to encounter slower traffic. By lap 18, Mattern had closed within a one-second margin of Frye in the race for the lead and win.

At the checkered flag, Frye was victorious by just 1.6 seconds over Mattern, D. Yoder, Rine, and Brett Schadel.

Polesitter Levi Vial drove into the lead at the start of the roadrunner feature. Vial was chased by secondplace starter Keith Bissinger for the first half of the race when sixth-place starter Jake Jones advanced to second and set his sights on the leader.

A lap eight caution flag regrouped the field and set up a thrilling chase to the checkered flag with Vial and Jones see-sawing for the lead in the final two laps. Racing out of turn four, Jones drove underneath Vial for the victory. Vial settled for second followed by Bissinger, points leader Nate Romig, and Jimmy Kessler.

#### SELINSGROVE SPEEDWAY RACE SUMMARY – 11 June 2022 360 SPRINT CARS – 22 Entries

25-Lap Joe Whitcomb Memorial: 1) 35 Jason Shultz 2) 77 Derek Locke 3) M1 Mark Smith 4) 5K Jake Karklin 5) 28F Davie Franek 6) 47 Adam Carberry 7) 11T Mike Thompson 8) 79 Jordan Thomas 9) 32 Kyle Smith 10) 61 Parker Evans 11) 22 Jonathan Preston 12) 22E Nash Ely 13) 19 Kruz Kepner 14) 41 Dalton Rombough 15) 2 Dave Axton 16) 7J Andrew Jacobus 17) 121 Steve Glover 18) 5 Dallas Schott 19) 2J Aaron Jacobus 20) 66 Jordan Hutton 21) 17 Jason Wagner 22) 10K Joe Kata DNS Heat Winners: Derek Locke, Jordan Thomas, Mike Thompson

Time Trials: 1) 47 Adam Carberry 18.944 2) 28F Davie Franek 18.946 3) M1 Mark Smith 18.985 4) 77 Derek Locke 18.986 5) 22E Nash Ely 19.018 6) 22 Jonathan Preston 19.029 7) 55 Dallas Schott 19.085 8) 35 Jason Shultz 19.220 9) 11T Mike Thompson 19.464 10) 66 Jordan Hutton 19.521 11) 79 Jordan Thomas 19.573 12) 61 Parker Evans 19.654 13) 5K Jake Karklin 19.695 14) 2 Dave Axton 19.799 15) 41 Dalton Rombough 19.815 16) 121 Steve Glover 19.918 17) 19 Kruz Kepner 19.949 18) 2J Aaron Jacobus 20.123 19) 7J Andrew Jacobus 20.290 20) 17 Jason Wagner 21.157 21) 32 Kyle Smith DNT 22) 10 Joe Kata DNT

### **SUPER LATE MODELS – 17 Entries**

25-Lap A-Main: 1) F1 Coleby Frye 2) 9 Hayes Mattern 3) 24 Dylan Yoder 4) 2J Jeff Rine 5) 22 Brett Schadel 6) 2Y Andrew Yoder 7) 119 Bryan Bernheisel 8) 27 Jim Yoder 9) 44 Danny Snyder 10) 7 Meade Hahn 11) 93 Cory Lawler 12) 63 Nathan Long 13) 61T Ken Trevitz 14) 1 Gene Knaub 15) 32J Shaun Jones 16) G05 Paul Spear 17) 25 Kody Lyter

# Heat Winners: Coleby Frye, Hayes Mattern

## **ROADRUNNERS – 13 Entries**

12-Lap A-Main: 1) 7 Jake Jones 2) 19 Levi Vial 3) 11 Keith Bissinger 4) 25 Nate Romig 5) 60 Jimmy Kessler 6) 8 Scott Landis 7) 992 Terry Kramer 8) 5 Matt Ney 9) 37 Ed Beasancon 10) 82 Dan Condo 11) 14 Cory Lindenmuth 12) 77 Scott Dunham 13) 28 Miranda Minium

Heat Winners: Levi Vial, Keith Bissinger