USAC NATIONAL SPRINT CAR SERIES RETURN TO SELINSGROVE THURSDAY WAS A RACE 50 YEARS IN THE MAKING: GRANT SCORES VICTORY IN CLASSIC WINGLESS DUEL OVER BALLOU; DANNER TOPS EAST COAST 360 SPRINT CAR FIELD

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – In a race that was 50 years in the making, Justin Grant of Ione, Calif., wheeled the NOS Energy Drink No. 4 wingless sprint car to a thrilling victory in Thursday night's first AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series race at the track since 1971.

Grant earned \$6,000 for the win in the 30-lap main event that was race three of five in the 2021 Eastern Storm Tour. Grant also won Tuesday night's series race at Grandview Speedway.

The only other USAC National Sprint Car Series race held at Selinsgrove was on July 17, 1971, in which central Pennsylvania star Mitch Smith of Linglestown scored the upset victory over the national series drivers.

Chris Windom of Canton, III., set a new one-lap track record for wingless 410 sprint cars with a lap time of 19.506, eclipsing Smith's 50-year mark of 23.420.

Briggs Danner of Allentown held off Alex Bright of Collegeville for his first career win at the track in the 20-lap USAC East Coast wingless 360 sprint car feature. It was Danner's fourth win overall in the series this season. Bright was the winner of the May 22 race at Selinsgrove.

Selinsgrove Speedway is back in action at 7:30PM this Saturday, June 19, with the World of Outlaws Late Models Series in the \$10,000-to-win Jeff's Auto Body National Open for super late models. Joining the super late models will be the limited late models in a 20-lap feature. Pit gates open at 4 p.m. with grandstand gates at 5 p.m.

Polesitter Kevin Thomas Jr. led the early laps of the sprint car main event with second-place starter C.J. Leary in pursuit. While Thomas was setting a torrid pace in the lead, a multi-car battle unfolded behind him for the runner-up position between Leary, fourth-place starter Justin Grant, and sixth-place starter Chris Windom.

Windom stormed his way into second and put in several bids for the lead, then stole the lead with a slider in turn one on lap 12. At the same time, Grant advanced to second and eighth-place starter Briggs Danner was third.

At the halfway point, Windom led Grant and Danner. Meanwhile, seventh-place starter Robert Ballou became a threat as he raced into third a few laps later.

With seven laps remaining, Grant took the lead from Windom with a pass using the highline in turns three and four. A lap later in the same location, Windom and Ballou made contact resulting in a flat tire for Windom. Danner also entered the pit area with a low tire after making contact with the guardrail.

When the race resumed, it was a war on wheels as Ballou tried multiple sliders to get by Grant to no avail. At the checkered flag, Grant was victorious by three seconds over Ballou, Leary, Thomas Jr., and fifth-place starter Brady Bacon.

At the start of the wingless 360 sprint car main event, Brody Adamsky flipped hard in turn three but was not injured. On the second attempt to start the race, polesitter Joey Amantea powered into the lead and was chased by second-place starter Christian Bruno.

The red flag stopped the race again on lap two when Steve Drevicki tagged the turn four wall and flipped. Drevicki escaped injury. For the next couple of laps Amantea and fourth-place starter Briggs Danner, racing in both divisions, see-sawed for the lead.

On lap three, Danner secured the lead with an inside pass in turn two. By lap seven, fifth-place starter Alex Bright raced into second and set his sights on Danner. With seven laps remaining, Bright was quickly gaining on Danner but with four to go scraped the turn two wall and lost ground on the leader.

Bright made a last-ditch effort to catch Danner for the lead and win but fell short by just 1.72 seconds. Danner was victorious over Bright, Bruno, Amantea, and Ed Aikin.

## SELINSGROVE SPEEDWAY RACE SUMMARY - 17 June 2021

USAC National 410 Sprint Car Series – 23 Entries

30-Lap A-Main: 1) 4 Justin Grant 2) 12 Robert Ballou 3) 77M CJ Leary 4) 9K Kevin Thomas Jr. 5) 69 Brady Bacon 6) 20 Alex Bright 7) 21AZ Jake Swanson 8) 21 Carmen Perigo 9) 3R Mark Smith 10) 22 Chase Johnson 11) 39 Shane Cottle 12) 19AZ Tanner Thorson 13) 33M Matt Westfall 14) 19S Steven Drevicki 15) 19 Chris Windom 16) 28 Brandon Mattox 17) 5S Chase Stockon 18) 5N Paul Nienhiser 19) 47 Charles Davis Jr. 20) 5 Logan Seavey 21) 5G Briggs Danner 22) 52 Isaac Chapple

Heat Winners: Briggs Danner, Tanner Thorson, Robert Ballou

Time Trials: 1) 19 Chris Windom 19.506 2) 69 Brady Bacon 19.607 3) 5 Logan Seavey 19.615 4) 4 Justin Grant 19.761 5) 19AZ Tanner Thorson 19.891 6) 77M CJ Leary 7) 9K Kevin Thomas Jr. 20.109 8) 20 Alex Bright 20.142 9) 22 Chase Johnson 20.218 10) 47 Charles Davis Jr. 20.222 11) 39 Shane Cottle 20.224 12) 21 Carmen Perigo 20.364 13) 33M Matt Westfall 20.391 14) 19S Steven Drevicki 20.489 15) 12 Robert Ballou 20.516 16) 5G Briggs Danner 20.660 17) 3R Mark Smith 20.669 18) 5S Chase Stockon 20.690 19) 5N Paul Nienhiser 20.690 20) 21AZ Jake Swanson 20.753 21) 28 Brandon Mattox 20.894 22) 52 Isaac Chapple DNT 23) 7 Timmy Buckwalter DNT

USAC East Coast 360 Sprint Car Series - 18 Entries

20-Lap A-Main: 1) 5G Briggs Danner 2) 20 Alex Bright 3) 17M Christain Bruno 4) 88J Joey Amantea 5) 7 Ed Aiken 6) 3BC Nash Ely 7) 17J Jonathan Swanson 8) 117 David Swanson 9) 33W Michael Walter 10) 57 Damon Paul 11) 21K Tommy Kunsman 12) 11 Mike Thompson 13) 07 Colby Womer 14) 67 Jason Cherry 15) 12W Troy Fraker 16) 19 Steven Drevicki 17) 3H Heidi Hedin 18) 19A Brody Adamsky

Heat Winners: Briggs Danner, Alex Bright