#### JASON SHULTZ FINDS VICTORY LANE FOR HIS FIRST 360 SPRINT CAR OPEN VICTORY

# KEN DUKE SCORES 2ND 305 SPRINT CAR WIN OF SEASON WHILE JAKE JONES CLAIMS HIS 4TH ROADRUNNER VICTORY

Jason Shultz held off the challenges of Devon Borden and Blane Heimbach for his first win in the 30-lap, 22<sup>nd</sup> Annual Mach 1 Chassis Open for 360 sprint cars Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Shultz, of Carlisle, earned \$5,000 for his third victory in four 360 sprint car races at the track this season behind the wheel of the Ritter Racing/Selinsgrove Ford No. 35. Shultz also clinched the 360 sprint car series track title with the win.

Ken Duke of Selinsgrove drove to his second Selinsgrove win of the season in the 20-lap 305 sprint car feature, while Jake Jones of Hunlock Creek scored his fourth win of the year in the 12-lap roadrunner race.

Selinsgrove Speedway's next race is slated for 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, July 19, featuring the 410 sprint cars and super late models in 25-lap main events paying \$5,000 to win for the track's 76<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Race.

Shultz started on the front row for the main event and pulled into the early lead. The caution flag unfurled after the completion of the first lap when Jason Wagner spun into the fourth turn wall.

When the race resumed, Shultz led polesitter Josh Weller and fourth-place starter Blane Heimbach in a high-speed chase. Heimbach took over second from Weller with five down as fifth-place starter Devon Borden advanced to third by lap seven.

The leaders began to encounter slower traffic by lap 10 and an exciting chase ensued for the top five positions. On the 15<sup>th</sup> circuit, sixth-place starter Briggs Danner, who was racing in the top five, developed engine failure while Heimbach pulled off a thrilling save in turn three when his car got completely sideways. Then the caution flag waved when Mike Thompson stopped in turn three.

On the lap 16 restart, Shultz and Borden see-sawed for the lead. Just as Borden made another pass for the lead the caution flag came out again when Jake Karklin tagged the backstretch wall.

For the final restart, Shultz remained in front of the pack with Borden being challenged for second by Heimbach again. In the final laps, Heimbach secured the runner up position and attempted to track down Shultz to no avail.

At the checkered flag, Shultz was victorious by just 1.8 seconds over Heimbach, Borden, third-place starter Mark Smith, and eighth-place starter Derek Locke.

In the 305 sprint car feature, Duke wired the field for the victory but not without several challenges coming from polesitter Domenic Melair. Eighth-place starter Garrett Bard quickly advanced to third.

At the halfway point, Duke and Melair were racing wheel-to-wheel for the lead until a caution flag broke up the intense battle. When the race went back to green, Duke kept his sprint car out in front with Melair in close pursuit.

In the final four laps, 10<sup>th</sup>-place starter Kenny Heffner stormed into third and set his sights on the leaders. At the checkered flag, Duke was victorious by only 1.3 seconds over Melair, Heffner, Doug Dodson, and Bard.

In the night-cap roadrunner race, points leader and second-place starter Nate Romig powered into the early lead. Romig was leading polesitter Jake Jones until the fourth lap when Jones made the winning pass on the frontstretch.

Romig later developed a flat tire from racing contact in turn three on lap six. In the second half of the race fifth-place starter Keith Bissinger stormed into second and reeled in Jones in a battle for the lead and win.

Jones held on for the win over Bissinger, Joe Condo, Terry Kramer, and Matt Ney.

### **SELINSGROVE SPEEDWAY RACE SUMMARY – 9 July 2022**

### 360 Sprint Cars – 18 Entries

30-Lap A-Main: 1) 35 Jason Shultz 2) 12 Blane Heimbach 3) 23 Devon Borden 4) M1 Mark Smith 5) 77 Derek Locke 6) 55 Dallas Schott 7) 63 Josh Weller 8) 00 Steve Buckwalter 9) 5K Jake Karklin 10) 47 Adam Carberry 11) 11 Ryan Stillwaggon 12) 669 Brandon McGough 13) 11T Mike Thompson 14) 27 Jake Galloway 15) 5G Briggs Danner 16) 17K Kyle Keen 17) 17 Jason Wagner 18) 10X Ryan Smith Heat Winners: Blane Heimbach, Mark Smith

# 305 Sprint Cars - 26 Entries

20-Lap A-Main: 1) 67 Ken Duke 2) 36 Domenic Melair 3) 97 Kenny Heffner 4) 20 Doug Dodson 5) 95 Garrett Bard 6) 7 Drew Young 7) M1 Justin Mills 8) 5 Logan Spahr 9) 34 Austin Reed 10) 2 Erin Statler 11) 17 Owen Dimm 12) 25 Dustin Young 13) 56 Tyler Snook 14) 46 Mike Alleman 15) 0Z Zach Rhodes 16) 19 Kruz Kepner 17) 53W Jim White 18) 18 Ian Detweiler 19) 11 Dylan Smith 20) 03 Matthew Swift 21) 1M Paul Moyer 22) 88 Fred Arnold 23) 21M Cassandra Minium 24) 54 Mike Melair 25) 71 Josh Spicer 26) 14X Cale Reigle

Heat Winners: Owen Dimm, Domenic Melair, Ken Duke

# **Roadrunners -14 Entries**

12-Lap A-Main: 1) 7 Jake Jones 2) 11 Keith Bissinger 3) 82 Dan Condo 4) 992 Terry Kramer 5) 5 Matt Ney 6) 12 Tom Underwood 7) 25 Nate Romig 8) 60 Jimmy Kessler 9) 28 Miranda Minium 10) 77 Scott Dunham 11) 14 Cory Lindenmuth 12) 83 Bob Bussey 13) 37 Ed Besancon 14) 19 Levi Vial Heat Winners: Levi Vial, Tom Underwood