HAUS POWERS TO FIRST SELINSGROVE LATE MODEL OPEN VICTORY; MELAIR & BRENNEMAN SCORE FIRST CAREER 305 SPRINT CAR & LIMITED LATE MODEL WINS; MITCH REPEATS IN ROADRUNNER RACING; 3 OF 4 FEATURES GO NON-STOP ON SUPERB TRACK SURFACE!

SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- It was a Saturday night of high-speed, high-efficiency racing as nearly 100 race cars stormed around Selinsgrove Speedway with three of the four main events going non-stop and one of them producing a new track record!

Andy Haus of Easton secured the lead on lap 14 of 30 in the rescheduled 23rd annual Late Model Open and held off former six-time winner Jeff Rine of Danville for his first victory in the race. Haus earned \$4,075 for the win and became the seventh different late model feature winner in as many races this season.

Trent Brenneman of Port Royal, who started his racing career on Selinsgrove's one-fifth mile kart track, earned his first career win on the half-mile track in the 20-lap limited late model feature and set a new track for distance in 7:21.351.

Domenic Melair of Warrington wired the field for his first-ever win in the 20-lap 305 sprint car feature, while Brad Mitch of McClure repeated in the roadrunner division's 12-lap race.

Selinsgrove Speedway's next race is Saturday, Aug. 28, for The Acme Companies 41st annual Jack Gunn Memorial for the 410 sprint cars plus limited late models and roadrunners at 7:30 p.m. Track gates will open at 5 p.m.

In the Late Model Open, second-place starter Andrew Yoder beat out polesitter Andy Haus for the lead entering turn one. In the opening laps Yoder set the pace ahead of Haus, third-place starter Jeff Rine, and fourth-place starter Austin Berry.

At lap 10, Haus caught Yoder and the pair drag raced for the lead for several laps, with Haus moving into the front spot on lap 14 with an inside pass in turn two. A lap later, Rine advanced to second and worked on closing the gap with the leader. Then sixth-place starter Dan Stone showed some speed and took over the third position.

The second half of the race saw Rine and Stone close within striking distance of Haus. The last five laps were the most suspenseful as the leaders snaked their way through slower traffic. Haus held off Rine to post a mere .32 of a second victory in the non-stop race. Stone, seventh-place starter Brett Schadel, and Yoder rounded out the top five.

Front row starter Kassidy Kreitz edged out polesitter Domenic Melair for the early lead at the start of the 305 sprint car feature. Kreitz led the first four laps of the race before Melair made the winning pass using the outside lane down the backstretch on lap five.

Melair continued to set a torrid pace at the halfway point with Kreitz and fourth-place starter Kruz Kepner in tow. With five laps to race, Kreitz and Kepner see-sawed for the runner-up position with Kreitz clinching the spot at the finish.

Melair's margin of victory was 2.8 seconds over Kreitz, Kepner, eighth-place starter Garrett Bard, and 14th-place starter Ken Duke.

Trent Brenneman started on the pole and grabbed the lead from front row starter John Schoch at the drop of the green flag in the limited late model feature. Third-place starter Danny Snyder quickly moved into the second spot and set his sights on Brenneman.

At the halfway point, Brenneman encountered slower traffic as Snyder and fifth-place starter

Shaun Miller attempted to reel in the leader. Even as Brenneman navigated his way through traffic he maintained a solid lead and posted a 4.6 second margin of victory and set a new 20-lap track record for the division. Snyder, Miller, Shaun Shoemaker, and Casey Steinhoff rounded out the top five.

Front row starter Brad Mitch pulled into the early lead in the roadrunner race. Mitch was chased by polesitter Smith Cope for the first three laps until fourth-place starter Jake Jones took over the runner up position.

Jones offered the most serious challenge to Mitch, who held on for his second straight win at the track. Jones settled for second with Keith Bissinger, Adam Campbell, and Cope rounding out the top five.

SELINSGROVE SPEEDWAY RACE SUMMARY – 14 August 2021 Super Late Models – 23 Entries

30-Lap Late Model Open: 1) 76 Andy Haus \$4,075 2) 2J Jeff Rine 3) 2 Dan Stone 4) 22 Brett Schadel 5) 2Y Andrew Yoder 6) 24 Dylan Yoder 7) 86 Austin Berry 8) 9 Hayes Mattern 9) 32 Shaun Jones 10) 31 Jim Bernheisel 11) 1 Gene Knaub 12) 4S Danny Snyder 13) 74 Randy Christine 14) 7 Meade Hahn 15) 15 Scott Flickinger 16) 27 Jim Yoder 17) 11 Jason Schmidt 18) 0G Deshawn Gingerich 19) 98 Randy Croop 20) 63 Nathan Long 21) 25K Kody Lyter 22) 3 Tim Wilson 23) 93 Pancho Lawler

Heat Winners: Dylan Yoder, Austin Berry, Jeff Rine

Time Trials: 1) 24 Dylan Yoder 19.897 2) 86 Austin Berry 19.919 3) 2J Jeff Rine 19.926 4) 3 Tim Wilson 20.014 5) 22 Brett Schadel 20.053 6) 15 Scott Flickinger 20.122 7) 1 Gene Knaub 20.228 8) 11 Jason Schmidt 20.343 9) 2 Andrew Yoder 20.389 10) 7 Meade Hahn 20.445 11) 31 Jim Bernheisel 20.468 12) 9 Hayes Mattern 20.506 13) 76 Andy Haus 20.563 14) 27 Jim Yoder 20.590 15) 63 Nathan Long 20.763 16) 93 Pancho Lawler 20.828 17) 32 Shaun Jones 20.898 18) 74 Randy Christine 20.963 19) 2 Dan Stone 20.999 20) 0G Deshawn Gingerich 21.014 21) 4S Danny Snyder 21.032 22) 25K Kody Lyter 21.600 23) 98 Randy Croop 21.659 305 Sprint Cars – 36 Entries

20-Lap A-Main: 1) 36 Domenic Melair 2) 69K Kassidy Kreitz 3) 19 Kruz Kepner 4) 95 Garrett Bard 5) 67 Ken Duke 6) 97 Kenny Heffner 7) 54 Mike Melair 8) 5 Logan Spahr 9) 26 Ryan Lynn 10) 20 Doug Dodson 11) 83 Larry McVay 12) 11M Mikell McGee 13) OZ Zach Rhodes 14) 7 Drew Young 15) 2 Erin Statler 16) 34 Austin Reed 17) 99 George Riden 18) 8 Nick Sweigart 19) 19A Tim Iulg 20) 56 Tyler Snook 21) 21C Jarrett Cavalet 22) 25 Dustin Young 23) 55B Rick Romig 24) 14 Cale Reigle 25) 31 Roger Weaver 26) 71 Josh Spicer

Heat Winners: Cale Reigle, Ryan Lynn, Larry McVay, Domenic Melair

B-Main Winner: Rick Romig

Limited Late Models – 23 Entries

20-Lap A-Main: 1) 33 Trent Brenneman 2) 44 Danny Snyder 3) 115S Shaun Miller 4) 44S Shawn Shoemaker 5) 22 Casey Steinhoff 6) 2Y Andrew Yoder 7) 92 Shaun Lawton 8) 33K Devin Hart 9) 93 Steve Todorow 10) 11T JR Toner 11) 49 Zach Fedorchik 12) 32 Ethan Beasom 13) 89 John Schoch 14) 20 Colin Knaub 15) 27 Cayden Ranck 16) 32 Chris Leister 17) 99 Kyle Bachman 18) 7 Jason Davis 19) 08 Zach Kauffman 20) 11B Jake Buck 21) 12K Jared Fulkroad 22) 28Z Ryan Zook 23) 18C Dan Condo

Heat Winners: Shawn Miller, Trent Brenneman, Casey Steinhoff Roadrunners – 14 Entries

12-Lap A-Main: 1) 10M Brad Mitch 2) 7 Jake Jones 3) 11 Keith Bissinger 4) 2 Adam Campbell 5) 1 Smith Cope 6) 25 Nate Romig 7) 357 Ronnie Buck 8) 33 Curtis Lawton 9) 12K Corey Kepner 10) 992 Terry Kramer 11) 60 Jimmy Kessler 12) 81 Tom Beers 13) 37 Ed Besancon 14) 28 Miranda Minium

Heat Winners: Brad Mitch, Adam Campbell